In 1994, with the enactment of the 17th Amendment to the Constitution, the Commission to Investigate Allegations of Bribery or Corruption was established by Act No 19 of 1994. The said Act is to provide for the establishment of a permanent Commission to Investigate Allegations of Bribery or Corruption (CIABOC) and to direct the institution of prosecutions for offences under the Bribery Act and the Declaration of Assets and Liabilities Law, No. 1 of 1975 and for matters connected. Today, it is the statutory body that exists as the independent organ to combat bribery and corruption.

The first Commission was commenced its activities from 15th December 1994. The Commission consist of three members, two of whom shall be retired Judges of the Supreme Court or of the Court of Appeal and one of whom shall be a  person with wide experience relating to the investigation of crime and law enforcement.


To maintain the independence of the Bribery Commission, the appointment of members of the Commission is made by the President on the recommendation of the Constitutional Council and their removal could only be made by Parliament and only on the grounds of misconduct and incapacity. Their appointment is for a period of 5 years and the Commissioners cannot be reappointed. The Commission is not under any Ministry or Department except for establishment purposes, where the Commissioners and the Director General coordinate with the Presidential Secretariat. The salaries are paid directly from the consolidated fund.

The Act provides for the appointment of a Director General (DG). The DG is the Chief Financial and Administrative Officer of the institution and is responsible to provide the necessary resources to both investigators and prosecutors.

The Commission consists of a legal unit, secretariat unit, investigation unit, administration unit and finance unit. The Commission under the supervision of the Public Service Commission (PSC) carries out the interviews for recruitments of the legal officers. The appointing authority and the disciplinary powers of the legal officers are vested with the PSC.

Investigators are seconded from the Sri Lanka Police and act as authorized officers of the Commission. The investigations and prosecutions could only be carried out on the specific direction of the Commission. However, for the Commission to maintain its true independency, it is necessary for the investigators to be employees of the Commission.

Additionally, CIABOC is in the process of identifying Experts such as Chartered Accounts, Forensic Auditors, Chartered Engineers, Surveyors, IT specialists, establishing an intelligence unit etc.

Section 5 of the Commission to Investigate Allegations of Bribery or Corruption Act, provides extensive investigative powers to the Commission including the power to seize bank accounts and impound passports. The Commissioners are immune from prosecution for any official act performed in good faith. (Section 19(1) of the CIABOC Act.)

The Commission mandate expands to bribery, corruption and Declaration of Assets and Liabilities law. It is statutorily empowered to investigate and prosecute all complains.







The First Commission was appointed on 15th December 1994

Members of the First Commission (15.12.1994 – 14.12.1999)

  • Justice T.A. de S. Wijesundara - Rtd. SC Judge - Chairman
  • Justice Siva Selliah - Rtd. CA Judge - Member - Expired on – 09.01.1997
  • Mr. C. Wijesuriya - Rtd. Govt. Auditor General - Member - Resigned on 13.07.1995
  • Mr. Rudra Rajasingham - Rtd. IGP - Appointed on 14.07.1995